top of page

Distinguished Service Award

Call for Nominations - 2025 Distinguished Service Award and Extramural Awards

The Distinguished Service Award is presented by the ASP to honor one of its members who, through dedicated efforts and sustained giving of time and talents, has significantly enhanced the effectiveness of the Society and promoted the discipline of parasitology.

Nominations will close on January 24, 2025.



Selection criteria: In choosing the awardee, the collective criteria for determining service contributions may include: (a) longevity as an active ASP member as evidenced by continuous membership and regular attendance at annual meetings; (b) active participation on ASP committees; (c) exceptional service in positions of leadership within the Society (officer, committee chairs, etc.); or exceptional leadership in promoting parasitology through active participation in regional parasitology societies or in the awardee's geographical area, or both.



The award consists of travel and accommodation expenses up to $1000 and an engraved plaque at the Annual Meeting.



Required documentation for the Distinguished Service Award nomination will include: (a) nomination letter summarizing the nominee's qualifications for distinguished service recognition; (b) two additional supporting letters; (c) updated Curriculum Vitae of the candidate with an appended detailed description of the candidate's contribution to ASP, to the field of parasitology, or both.


Please submit nominations to:


Previous Distinguished Service Award Recipients

1995 L. Margalis

1996 Donald W. Duszysnski

1998 Sherwin Dresser

2001 Robert L. Rausch

2002 J. R. Seed

2004 A. McInnis

2005 Ralph Lichtenfels

2006 Lilian Mayberry

2008 William Campbell

2015 John Janovy, Jr

2018 Dennis Minchella

2019 Timothy Yoshino

2021 Lee Couch

2023 John Hawdon

bottom of page